top of page
MO_LINE_GELB.png
Two founding dates

The Museumsorchester owes its formation to the commitment of Frankfurt’s citizens. As part of the opening of the Frankfurt National Theatre in 1792, it was only natural for there to be an orchestra to perform the contemporary operas of Mozart, Dittersdorf, and Salieri. For this purpose, the theatre management selected musicians from the city and the region to form a permanent music ensemble for the theatre. This was initially made possible by a private corporation, but before long the successful orchestra was supported financially by the city of Frankfurt as well.


The second founding date of the orchestra followed in 1808: To introduce the members of the ‘Museum’ society to the latest symphonic music, a large orchestra was required. As a result, the musicians of the theatre orchestra were contracted for the concerts with an orchestra – the ‘great museums’. Thus, the present name ‘Museumsorchester’ was born.
 

MO_LINE_GELB.png
A museum in step with the times

While today the word ‘museum’ might first bring to mind an exhibition venue, in the 19th century, the approach of the ‘museum’ in Frankfurt was different – it was interactive and in step with the times: In 1808, citizens of Frankfurt founded the ‘Museum’, a society for the ‘care of the muses’, to cultivate and promote literature, fine arts and art music. The meetings of the association included literary and musical performances, as well as ‘art inspections’ of alternately presented paintings. Later, the ‘museums’ were opened to the city community. Many composers had their brand-new music performed here for the first time: Works by Johannes Brahms, for example, were premiered under his direction. Likewise, Richard Strauss’ tone poems Ein Heldenleben and Also sprach Zarathustra also had their world premieres here under the composer’s direction.

MO_LINE_GELB.png
Two roles, at least…

The musical impact of the Museumsorchester regularly unfolds in two ways: in the pit as the orchestra of the Oper Frankfurt and as a symphony orchestra in the museum concerts of the Frankfurter Museumsgesellschaft.


In 2021, the association ‘Museumsorchester e.V.’ was founded. Members of the orchestra have organised themselves in order to be able to realise projects such as the ‘Mahnwachen für Musikkultur Live’, vigils for live music culture.

MO_LINE_GELB.png
Principal conductors and concertmasters

The ‘hall of fame’ of musical personalities who have left their mark on the orchestra is considerable. These include Louis Spohr, Willem Mengelberg, Georg Solti and Michael Gielen. Well-known guest conductors were Johannes Brahms, Antonín Dvořák, Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, Gustav Mahler, Richard Strauss, Bruno Walter and many others.


The most famous member of the orchestra was certainly Paul Hindemith, who held the position of concertmaster between 1915 and 1922. He is also the namesake of the orchestra’s own academy, where young artists have been taking their first steps into professional life since 2015.

MO_LINE_GELB.png

Our Newsletter:

Always up to date.

Thank you for subscribing!

bottom of page

MO_9.1.jpg

Über uns

MO_LINE_TUERKIS.png
MO_LINE_GELB.png
Zwei Geburtsstunden

Dem Engagement der Frankfurter Bürgerschaft verdankt das Museumsorchester seine Entstehung. Im Zuge der Eröffnung des Frankfurter Nationaltheaters 1792 sollte es natürlich auch ein Orchester geben, welches die zeitgenössischen Opern von Mozart, Dittersdorf und Salieri aufführte. Die Theaterdirektion wählte dafür Musiker der Stadt und der Region aus, um eine permanente Kapelle für den Theaterbetrieb zu bilden. Ermöglicht wurde dies zunächst durch eine private Aktiengesellschaft, aber schon bald wurde das erfolgreiche Orchester auch von der Stadt Frankfurt finanziell unterstützt.

Die zweite Geburtsstunde des Orchesters war dann im Jahr 1808: Um die Mitglieder des „Museums“ mit der neuesten sinfonischen Musik vertraut zu machen, bedurfte es eines großen Orchesters. So wurden die Musiker des Theaterorchesters für die Konzerte mit Orchester - die „Großen Museen“ - unter Vertrag genommen. Der heutige Name „Museumsorchester“ war geboren.

MO_LINE_GELB.png
Ein Museum am Puls der Zeit

Während heute das Wort „Museum“ vielleicht zuerst an einen Ausstellungsort denken lässt, war der Ansatz des Frankfurter „Museums“ im 19. Jahrhundert ein anderer - interaktiv und am Puls der Zeit: Frankfurter Bürger gründeten 1808 mit dem “Museum“ einen „Musenverein“ zur Pflege und Förderung der Literatur, bildenden Kunst und Tonkunst. Die Zusammenkünfte des Vereins beinhalteten literarische und musikalische Darbietungen sowie “Kunstbeschauungen” anhand wechselnd präsentierter Gemälde. Später wurden die „Museen“ für die Stadtgesellschaft geöffnet. Viele Komponisten ließen ihre brandneue Musik hier zum ersten Mal erklingen: So wurden Werke von Johannes Brahms unter seiner Leitung uraufgeführt - aber auch Richard Strauss´ Tondichtungen „Heldenleben“ und „Also sprach Zarathustra“ erlebten hier ihre Uraufführungen unter der Leitung des Komponisten. 

MO_LINE_GELB.png
Zwei Rollen, mindestens…

Die musikalische Wirkung des Museumsorchesters entfaltet sich regelmäßig auf zwei Arten: im Graben als Orchester der Oper Frankfurt sowie als Sinfonieorchester in den Museumskonzerten der Frankfurter Museums-Gesellschaft.

 

Seit 2021 besteht der Verein „Museumsorchester e.V.“, in dem sich die Mitglieder des Orchesters organisieren, um Projekte wie die „Mahnwachen für Musikkultur Live“ verwirklichen zu können.

MO_LINE_GELB.png
Chefdirigenten und Konzertmeister

Die „Hall of Fame“ der Musikerpersönlichkeiten, welche das Orchester nachwirken prägten, ist groß. Dazu gehören u.a. Louis Spohr, Willem Mengelberg, Georg Solti und Michael Gielen. Namhafte Gastdirigenten waren Johannes Brahms, Antonín Dvořák, Pjotr Iljitsch Tschaikowsky, Gustav Mahler, Richard Strauss, Bruno Walter und viele andere.

Berühmtestes Orchestermitglied war sicherlich Paul Hindemith, der zwischen 1915 und 1922 die Position des Konzertmeisters inne hatte. Er ist auch Namensgeber der orchestereigenen Akademie, in der seit 2015 junge Künster:innen ihre ersten Schritte ins Berufsleben gehen.

MO_LINE_GELB.png

Unser Newsletter:

Immer auf dem neusten Stand.

Danke für die Nachricht!